Contact: Chip Guy

Chief of Public Information
Sussex County Administration
(302) 854-5000
pio@sussexcountyde.gov

Sussex County Council Administrative Offices 2 The Circle PO Box 589 Georgetown, DE 19947

Sussex County Government

News Release

Sussex County property taxes due Sept. 30

Georgetown, Del., Sept. 15, 2011: Sussex County's annual tax deadline is only a few days away.

Sussex County reminds property owners that Friday, Sept. 30, 2011, is the deadline to pay annual County property tax bills. Payments made after that date will be subject to a 1.5 percent penalty. Payments sent by mail must be postmarked no later than Sept. 30.

This summer, the County's Treasury Division issued more than 170,000 annual tax bills totaling an estimated \$104.8 million. The bills include County property taxes, as well as fees for County sewer and water, tax ditches and street lighting, where applicable.

Additionally, tax bills include local school district taxes, which are collected by the County, but forwarded to the State. Delaware law requires Sussex County to bill property owners for school taxes on behalf of the eight public school districts within the county.

This year's tax bills include a small gift to taxpayers, as County Council earlier this year opted to waive the annual \$3 capitation tax for residents 21 years and older. That reduction put more than \$250,000 -- an average savings of \$6 for a typical household of two adults – back into the pockets of local taxpayers.

Sussex County accepts tax payments by cash, check, money order or credit card. Taxpayers have different options to make their payments. These include:

For Immediate Release

THROUGH LENDER

Many taxpayers have their annual taxes paid out of an escrow account by their mortgage lenders. If these taxpayers have any questions regarding the status of their escrow accounts, they should contact their lenders.

ONLINE

Payment can be made on the Internet, with the use of most major credit cards or by check. Go to www.sussexcountyde.gov/e-service/propertytaxes/ and select "Make a Payment" on the left side for more information.

BY MAIL

Property owners can mail their tax payments using the return envelopes included in their statements. Bills should be addressed to the Sussex County Treasury Division, PO Box 429, Georgetown, DE 19947. All payments sent by mail must be postmarked by Sept. 30 to avoid the 1.5 percent penalty, per month, on unpaid balances.

IN PERSON OR BY TELEPHONE

The County's tax office is open weekdays from 8:30 a.m. until 4:30 p.m. The office is located on the second floor, Room 252, of the County Administrative Offices building, 2 The Circle, in Georgetown. Tax payments also can be left in the office's after-hours drop box located in the lobby. For more information, call (302) 855-7760.

####